Every September some 40,000 volunteers across England organise 5,000 events to celebrate our fantastic history and culture. It’s your chance to see hidden places and try out new experiences – all of which are FREE to explore!
The 2019 festival is running for ten consecutive days from 13th to the 22nd of September.
There are loads of venues in Wharfedale & Craven Opening their doors to the public this September, we are so lucky to live in such a historically interesting place!
Join Aviation Historian Ken Cothliff as he traces the fascinating history of Leeds Bradford Airport. This illustrated talk will tell the story of the Airport from its humble beginnings to its place in international travel today and will be hosted by the Yeadon Town Hall Community Interest Company. Many of the photographs on display have never been shown in public before.
Sunday 22 September: 13.00
Booking Details Pre-booking: Required Go to: https://www.eventbrite.co.uk/e/yeadon-above-and-beyond-the-story-of-yorkshires-own-airport-tickets-64727583946
Sat 14th & Sun 15th Sept 9am to 1pm 1) Aireborough Historical Society Museum of Aireborough artefacts in Yeadon Town Hall. 2) Guided tours of Yeadon Town Hall (Sat & Sun) 10am & 12 noon. 3) 11am (Sat & Sun) slide show old Aireborough photos
Saturday 14th and Sunday 15th Sept 2019 from 9am to 1pm Three fantastic events in one historic building – JOIN AIREBOROUGH HISTORICAL SOCIETY IN YEADON TOWN HALL 1) Never seen before, artefacts local people have donated over the years to the Aireborough Historical Society for safe keeping, preserving the history for future generations, these items will be on display as a museum in the Wharfedale Room in the Town Hall.
2) Always wanted to see around the historic Yeadon Town Hall built in 1889 for the people of Yeadon? Find out what the new project “Restoration 2020” is all about. Guided Town Hall tours Sat 14 & Sun 15th Sept 10am & 12noon – meet in the Town Hall entrance lobby.
3) 11am Sat 14th & Sun 15th Sept, join Carlo Harrison and the archive team for an hour, when they will be showing a selection of Aireborough photos of yesteryear on a large screen.
If you have items still too precious to donate, however, you would like to share them with others – bring them along and the Aireborough Historical Society will scan them and display the items on the Aireborough Historical Society website for others to enjoy. The famous Aireborough Historical calendar (2020 edition) will be available to purchase on the day at only £6 each.
Saturday 14 September: Event 9.00 – 13.00 , Town Hall Tours 1000 & 1200 , slide show 1100
Sunday 15 September: Event 9.00 – 13.00, Town Hall Tours 1000 & 1200 , slide show 1100
Yeadon heritage walk Discover the rich history and heritage of Yeadon. The walk will begin and end at Yeadon Tarn Bandstand and continue through the Conservation Areas using photographic archive material at various sites
Come join us for this lively presentation and discussion, detailing the future hopes and dreams of the new Guiseley Theatre Community Interest Company.
Guiseley Theatre Community Interest Company was incorporated in 2019 to breathe new life into Guiseley Theatre. This public presentation will help residents to gain an insight into the future of this exciting community hub, meet the people responsible for the project and have their say about what they would like to see happening in their community theatre.
Come and browse a collection of images taken by members of Aireborough Camera Club. Notice the beauty of our landscape, the architecture you pass by every day and speak to members of the club about their passion for photographing the area. Aireborough Camera Club have now been running for over 50 years and have seen many photographers evolve their practice to enter the age of digital photography. Join us for this new and nostalgic exhibition exploring life and landscape in Aireborough. Finding the beauty in the every day, this exhibition is sure to make you proud of where you come from!
Saint Oswald’s Church will be open for visitors to enjoy this ancient place of worship in the heart of the community of Guiseley.
Highlights are our WW1 and other stained glass windows, the ancient rood stone in church, our war graves and local/family history memorials. The parents of the world-famous Bronte sisters, Patrick Bronte and Maria Branwell, were married in what is now our Lady Chapel in December 1812.
Guiseley Cemetery was opened in 1922 with the first interment taking place in July. The fields in which the cemetery is placed belonged to Mr Craven Cooper and the first interment was of his wife. Mr & Mrs Cooper had farmed the land for over 30 years and the fields in which Guiseley Cemetery is now situated were previously known as the Nooks.
The tour will incorporate graves of those who made a significant difference within their community, along with a number of war graves, to which are attached heartwarming and moving stories.
Sunday 22 September: Guided tours at 2pm, 3pm and 4pm.
Join Chairman of Guiseley Theatre, Christopher Ingram for a guided tour of Guiseley Theatre, re-living the building’s past, hearing its tales and learning of exciting things to come! Guiseley Theatre has been at the heart of the Guiseley community since 1867. During its lifetime – spanning over 150 years – the now ‘Guiseley Theatre’ has lived life as a Town Hall, a library, a school, a military hospital, cinema and much, much more! Walk the corridors of one of Guiseley’s most loved buildings and discover its hidden stories.
Saturday 21 September: Tours 1030 & 1330
Booking Details Pre-booking: Required Guiseley Theatre will be open on the day to explore but Guided Tours must be pre-booked Booking Contact: Guiseley Theatre Call: 03336663366 Go to: http://www.guiseleytheatre.org/box-office
Arts and Crafts Church containing a notable stained glass window and newly commissioned embroidery. The church was designed in arts and craft style by George Pennington whose practice in Pontefract was responsible for a wide range of buildings but best known for churches like the one at Ben Rhydding on the one hand and by way of contrast public houses in and around Pontefract on the other.
In the North wall of the Tower area is a particularly fine stained glass window designed by Harry Stammers. After the Second World War he played a major part in reviving the York school of glass painting and establishing the city’s pre-eminence in stained glass production. Best known for his Airmen’s Memorial Windows in Lincoln Cathedral, Ben Rhydding’s window is a fine example of his style and depicts the parable of the sower.
The display of the newly commissioned pulpit falls provides a further link with York. They are the work of a member of the church who for many years was a member of the York Minster Broderers. They feature particularly fine goldwork.
All Saints Church Office, 4 Church Street, Ilkley, West Yorkshire, LS29 9DS
Come and explore the new interactive heritage interpretations of All Saints Church, Ilkley; built on the site of the former Roman Fort of Olicana, a Scheduled Ancient Monument, founded in 80AD.
Discover our renowned Victorian campanologist (for whom all the nations’ bells tolled) Church Bells Experience 3-4pm Children’s Activities – Heritage back-packs Stained Glass Craft Activity 10-12am Mouse Hunt 10am-4pm
All Saints Ilkley is one of the most historic places in the area. When the Roman fort was abandoned, Anglo-Saxon settlers re-used the stone to build a church. The current Grade II* listed building is partly medieval and was substantially enlarged by the Victorians. The 15th-century tower houses three Grade I listed Saxon crosses and several Roman altars of great regional significance.
This is an opportunity to hear Gavin Edwards, former curator of the Ilkley Manor House, sharing his unique and extensive knowledge of the building and its history. Gavin Edwards will lead a tour around this Grade 1 Listed Building built on the site of a Roman fort. He will talk about the past of the building and explore some of its secrets.
The paupers’ graveyard which closed in 1969 which belonged to High Royds Psychiatric Hospital (closed in 2003) was restored in 2011 to create a tranquil garden of remembrance. The Heritage Chapel, which contains details of the 2861 people who are buried there, remembers those who have gone before and helps with the campaign to remove the stigma and discrimination surrounding mental health. Its loving restoration has created an oasis of peace and a special Thanksgiving Service will be held, at 4pm on Sunday 10th September to commemorate the restoration and those who have gone before.
A walk around the grounds of the former West Riding lunatic asylum, built in the 1880s and closed in 2003. Much new development has taken place while Grade II listed historic buildings have been neglected leading to theft and vandalism. Some have been converted but the famous ballroom is still the home of pigeons. We shall also visit the Memorial Chapel and graveyard.
Sunday 15 September: 10.30Booking Details Pre-booking: Required Go to: https://www.eventbrite.co.uk/e/high-royds-now-chevin-park-the-lost-world-of-a-victorian-asylum-tickets-64727727375
The Grade One listed Puritan chapel in Bramhope one of the few churches built during the Commonwealth Period. The Puritan Chapel was built specifically for Puritan worship in 1649 by Robert Dyneley and used for worship until 1881. Visitors can see a unique building and hear some of the building’s history.
Mainly our old Meeting House built in 1697 and also out ‘schoolroom’ – an old converted stable with interesting architectural features. The buildings are set in a graveyard – see how the gravestones reflect a belief in equality – which has been adapted into a pleasant garden.
The Heritage of a Yorkshire village that became known nationally & internationally. The heritage on which our project focuses is that presented by the historic Anglican church of St Peter’s, Rawdon, and the surrounding townscape and community. The church itself is of outstanding importance as it is an extremely rare example of an Anglican church founded during the Civil War and Commonwealth period, initially serving as a chapel of ease within Guiseley parish. It was built at the expense of Francis Layton, a prominent Yorkshire royalist, Yeoman of the Jewel House to Charles I and the husband of one of Anne of Denmark’s waiting women. The church was substantially rebuilt in the 1860s under the direction of a pupil of the leading Leeds architect, Cuthbert Broderick, retaining some of its original features, but also gaining other important fixtures. These include the east window, which is from the workshop of William Wailes of Newcastle – a prominent Victorian manufacturer of stained glass – and commemorates John Wood of Upperwood House, Apperley, principally known as the erstwhile employer of Charlotte Bronte.
Visitors will be able to participate in guided leisurely tours around the site. Display boards of the history of the site and some tales from our older plot holders. There will be tea and coffee, soft drinks, veg etc. on sale (proceed to association) The site was donated as allotments by Sir Arthur Godwin Kt., J.P., to the people of Rawdon on 20th September 1919. So this year is our centenary year. The site is in a pleasant location with views of Ilkley Moor. It is a partially self managed site leased from Leeds City Council and has an association running its internal affairs. There are 38 full sized plots with many split into half and quarter plots with a total of 61 plot holders and their families. at present the association is improving the facilities available to the plot holders The association also runs events such as Easter Egg Hunts and B-B-Q’s for its members. In the past it was listed in the Allotment Regeneration Initiatives ‘Good Sites Guide’ and has very recently participated in Rawdon Villages entry into the ‘In Bloom’ competition.
Otley Parish Church is a Grade I listed building with parts dating from the 11th century. It is the oldest building in the town. The church building has many interesting features which will be highlighted and sections of Saxon Crosses found on the site can be seen on request. Historical documents, photographs and rarely seen archive material will be on display. It is 300 years since the famous furniture maker, Thomas Chippendale, was baptised in Otley Parish Church and a special exhibition will celebrate his craftsmanship. In the churchyard, the impressive Navvies’ Monument can be viewed with an explanation provided about its history and conservation plans. There will be guided tours of the church – one exploring the history of the building and the second entitled “Mysteries of the Monuments – a glimpse into local family history”.
Victorian police house, cell block and magistrates courts, converted in 2004 to an arts and resource centre. Heritage cell and cell corridor preserved. Unique artwork based on petty sessions records. Used for ‘Heartbeat’ series on ITV. ‘Timeline’ showing history of building in relation to local and national events.
Beat Walks to find out what it was like to walk a day and a night town beat in Otley between the years 1956 to 1968. Duration one hour. Distance 1 ½ miles. 2 sessions, 11am and 2pm. Group size limited to 15. Booking essential. Book by phone 01943 467466
People Power: The Plug Riots of 1842 and Skipton. Guided walk. A visit to a few of the sites associated with the 1842 riots, when out-of-work Lancashire weavers marched from Colne to attack the Dewhirst and Sidgwick factories. Find out what drove them to make the long journey, what happened in Skipton, and about some of the characters involved – millowners, magistrates, troops, protestors and others. We will visit Dewhirst’s, Hannah Hills, Sidgwick Low Mill site, the Devonshire and the Matthew Wilson statue. Meet at the Morrisons carpark ‘porch’ on Broughton Road, finish Town Centre. About 75 minutes.
A detailed tour of the former railway station site and the current station in Skipton with railway historian Peter Bewes. This circular walking tour of up to 2 hours starts at Tesco (built on a former railway site) and will take you to the fine current railway station. Leader Peter Bewes will describe some of the events and colourful personalities of Skipton’s railway past.
Saturday 14 September: Walk 1400-1600
Booking Details Pre-booking: Preferred Numbers for access to the station are limited and we advise pre-booking. Booking Contact: Peter Bewes Email: firstname.lastname@example.org Booking opens: 20 July 2019
East Riddlesden Hall National Trust, East Riddlesden Hall, Bradford Road, Riddlesden, Keighley, West Yorkshire, BD20 5EL
Hundreds of years ago this West Yorkshire manor was a thriving farming estate. Today East Riddlesden Hall makes a great day out for the whole family. This hidden gem was saved from demolition in 1934 and now offers a friendly Yorkshire welcome to all who pass through its 400-year-old doors. The house and its history continue to surprise us as we unravel its stories. Come and see for yourself why it was worth saving – you might leave with more questions than answers.
The natural play areas will spark the imagination of the whole family. At East Riddlesden Hall there are plenty of things to do that will keep everyone happy. We love natural play and have a wonderful outdoor experience for families. This includes a mud pie kitchen, den building area, hidden tunnels, wooden play equipment and lots of space to let imaginations run wild. With over 50 acres of space waiting to be explored, it’s time to get outdoors and have some traditional family fun.
The intimate gardens offer a relaxing space throughout the year. At this time of year the gardens are filled with golds and purples, and you’ll see fruit trees laden down with apples, pears, figs and plums.
The shop and tea-room in the historic bothy sells plants, local, and seasonal products, as well as homemade scones. Accessible tables are available on the ground floor and we’re proud that the whole property has been awarded as dementia-friendly.